a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Strumpet

I do like a painted lady butterfly, but most of the ones that I've seen so far this year have been very ragged looking.  Today I came across one that was in tip top shape and seemed to be happy to sit and chat with the photographer while he sorted out taking its portrait.


"So how was the annual migration from North Africa this year, I understand that it will have been particularly hot, dry and dusty in Southern Europe on your way through?  
...
Can you just raise the wings a tad more please? Now you just hold that pose please I've nearly got you in focus.  
...
My word, I can see you clearly now.  Oh I say! 
...
Please don't take this the wrong way, and I'm not being funny but  ...  you've got an awfully luxuriant hairy chest (not to mention beard and moustache) is there a particular hair regime, shampoo, conditioner, wax perhaps, that you would recommend?"


The butterfly, wisely refusing to get drawn into a conversation on personal appearances, chose that moment to look for a better class of flower to frequent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.