a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Achooo!

Pollen can cause even a bee to sneeze, or at least that's what you might think if you saw this bee rubbing its nose.

I decided not to crop in on the bee on this occasion, as I like the composition you get when you retain the whole of the flower, with the bee sitting up in the middle of the osteospermum.  There's a lot of bee detail available, but you will need to go large to see it.

Despite appearances this was taken with the assistance of flash.  It takes a little jiggery pokery to get the flash exposed correctly for such a bright scene, but I was hoping to freeze the bee in flight.  As you can tell I've manifestly failed to achieve that, as I pressed the shutter slightly too early, but I do like the bee's posture so I was quite pleased with the end result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.