WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Yes, I went there

I bought a cheap pasta machine in a sale and used it to make tagliatelle from surplus sourdough starter. Result in the extra, hung over a broom handle to dry.

I had a pasta machine decades ago ... like most people, I used it a couple of times and then decided it was too much hassle and gave it away. So I was kind of surprised to realise that pasta dough is very quick and easy to make. And once you've got the knack, using the machine is not that difficult either. I had taken the trouble to order proper pasta flour (a mixture of strong wheat flour and fine semolina) and the results were very convincing. We had some for lunch with tomato sauce. There's about half of it left, and I'm fairly sure I'll do this again. At least once.

It was a good indoor activity, as my plan for going to the market this morning was stymied by torrential rain (no swimming either). There was an actual thunderstorm this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.