Grammer

Over the weekend I read something about the languishing syndrome* which can affect any of us as a consequence of the pandemic. “Change your scenery” was one suggested response. I did that in April, May and June but stayed at home once the peak holiday season hit.  

Today I changed my scenery. I have only come as far as Edinburgh, but that is not the point. I am in a hotel - or Residence to give it its posh name (Edinburgh, after all) - which is part of the redevelopment of the old Royal Infirmary site. 

I took the bus over from Fife. Pleasant. Relaxed. Free. 25 minutes.

I went for a coffee at one of my old pre-pandemic haunts. It is on The Mound, so the view and the people watching are top notch. It was empty, which I have never encountered before. 

I fought my way through the touroid masses trickle past the Royal Mile, Harry Potter’s “birthplace” and Greyfriars Bobby. 

I was impressed by the Residence’s hygiene etc regime. They know what they are trying to do. It is up to us to help them get there. 

I was born 250m from here. I went to school 200m from here. I can remember being in the old hospital twice - just visiting. I can even remember someone trying to smuggle me into the nurses’ hostel (she failed). 

A change of scenery presents a huge choice of Blip material as compared with a typical day at home or working. 

I have gone for a Grammer’s cliché. The Castle from the Vennel. More importantly, I was standing outside one of my former geography classrooms when I took it. The Extra is dinner… well, the main course. A mahshy kebab. Traditional Kurdish. Best thing I’ve eaten in a long time.  

[* Ed. note: Languishing encompasses distressing feelings of stagnation, monotony, and emptiness.]

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.