Change of Scene, Part 2

What a relaxed and relaxing morning I had. 

Breakfast in your room is the only way at the Residence at the moment and in fact it was quite pleasant. Sometimes the breakfast buffet mêlée can be an unhappy hotel experience, and more so if some guests ignore the pandemic safety measures (I suffered this in Belfast recently). 

I think the only occasional inconvenience in the Residence was the 1 person rule for the lift (it is a good and necessary rule, obviously). It has only 1 lift, and staff have to use it too. The encouraging news is I can still manage 6 flights of stairs without dropping dead.   

On the safety note, I think all the hospitality places I used in Edinburgh reminded me to check in on the test and trace app, and all had the other safety adaptations I would have expected. Very, very few unmasked idiots spoiled the party.

By contrast, one or two parts of the city centre were uncomfortably busy. I will probably sidestep Edinburgh until the holiday/festival season is over in a month or so. 

Mid morning I went out for a walk, and ended up spending half the time just sitting on a terrace drinking coffee. People watching is a good way to relax, especially if quite a few of them are rushing from the gym to work while “grabbing a coffee” on their sweaty way. *Yawn*.

The guy nearest to me on the terrace was wearing exactly the same as me (charcoal grey t-shirt, plain jeans and brown shoes) but was 40 years younger and had a hipster beard. It worried me. Perhaps I should buy some Older Person clothes. Jeans with an elasticated waist maybe.

Lunchtime brought check out and a bus back across the water (we have a bridge). Reality has resumed. 

The Blip speaks for itself. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.