A grand day out

A trip to Bridlington, via a visit to the wonderful nature reserve at Tophill Low (a Yorkshire Water site, with trails and hides by the reservoirs and associated areas of marsh and woodland). There, I spent several happy hours. The highlight was watching
dragonflies and damselflies - and, I hope, getting some good images of them. We'll see, when I get them downloaded tomorrow. There were very few visitors there; it was blissfully quiet.

I'm in Bridlington overnight because I'd booked a seabird-watching boat trip some weeks ago; it got rearranged because of choppy sea conditions. In fact, the conditions aren't calm enough this time either (but you only get confirmation or cancellation the night before). My fallback plan is an early morning visit to Bempton Cliffs: a sunny walk, a final chance, this year, to see all those gannets (and perhaps a few puffins).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.