JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 215: Sandwich window

I didn't do a tiny shot today, as we had a rare outing which presented different opportunities. I will return to flowers and insects in the garden on the many days when I don't go anywhere.

It was a perfectly beautiful day. In the morning, after getting J up and showered and bringing in the Tesco delivery (which we are continuing to wipe with disinfectant before putting away in fridges and cupboards), I went to see C and had coffee in his garden. The sky was clear, periwinkle blue dotted with cumulus clouds, and the gravel garden outside his dining room was bright with small orange-red poppies around the sundial; he had red geraniums in the border and pots of vividly multicoloured zinnias. I took home trays of cut mint and oregano, which has seeded over several areas of his vegetable garden, to dehydrate.

After lunch we went to Sandwich. It's a pretty little historic town, with many medieval and Tudor buildings as well as interesting architecture from later periods. There is a lovely, shady walk around the site of the old town walls, much of it above a small river, and it's well provided with benches on which to picnic and watch the resident ducks and passing dogs. Pushing a wheelchair round the old town centre is hard work: many pavements are too narrow, so I frequently had to get J up and down kerbs or cross the road multiple times as I moved along a street. However, it's worth tolerating occasionally as there are so many interesting buildings, with far more photogenic details than my companions would have accepted me trying to record. The main photo could, of course, be anywhere, but I loved the reflection of the tree in the glass while the surrounding wall was patterned with its moving shadows. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.