On watch!

Unfortunately one of our new hens has gone walkabout. We spent most of the day looking for her on and off, around the neighbourhood, but the grass is so long everywhere it's easy to hide! They were free ranging when we got them so used to just wandering and foraging. We don't know how she got out from the others. The other two newbies seem quite happy despite the occasional hen pecking from the originals! There is a lot of space for them not to have to be in close proximity all the time so hopefully they will all live together in harmony eventually. As there is only two newbies now I decided to name them after my grandmothers, Gladys and Lizzie. They are definitely becoming more confident and will approach us now too. I hope they will be happy and not try to escape too.
I had a difficult day with mum who was very down and upset in the morning but luckily following various 'caring visits' throughout the day and a couple of pieces of good news she had bounced back by the evening, so hopefully tomorrow will be a better day for her.
I couldn't really settle to much, what with hen hunts and worrying about mum so I just dug up a couple more rocks and a couple of planting holes on my top bank. 
I'm watching lots of YouTube sewing vlogs and gathering pattern and fabric ideas. I have ordered a dress pattern and am deciding on fabric for that. I'm really enjoying watching other people's makes. I find them very helpful and encouraging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.