The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

"It's raining peas"

Yes, there were peas on earth, and on the kitchen floor, after I picked a packet of frozen peas out of the freezer to use as an emergency cold compress, and forgot to check if it was actually open! Two of the boys bumped their heads/faces while play-fighting on the indoor bouncy castle. One of them needed a cuddle, and one a compress.

Mostly it rained while I was with the three boys. We did get outside to make a volcano, which was fun (vinegar, washing up liquid, baking soda were the main ingredients). The older boy wanted to make a red potion, and cook it. That was fine until I got it out again later, and it ended up on the kitchen floor, and on clothes, and on body parts. (The boys don't wear many clothes at home). Next time I will leave the potion on the worktop, or dispose of it quietly. Apart from everything else, red paint looks a lot like blood. The kitchen resembled a particularly nasty crime scene.

After I'd worked a 5-hour shift, I phoned friend J to meet for emergency coffee. We went to Rough Hands. I was looking pretty roughed up in general. Parents of three small boys, I salute you, wherever you are! How do you do it? Following our coffee, we did some shopping, and I caught the bus home. It was too wet to chop up any more brambles.

Then I set up (in the sitting room) a small play gazebo that I had found while clearing up on Monday. It's ex-Woolworths, I bought it when my nephews lived here one summer, many years ago. They wouldn't need it now, but it's cute and I'm trying to find a home for it. I managed to fit all the steel poles and connectors together, even though there were no instructions. Now that I have washed the dreadful musty smell out of the covers, it will definitely not be going to the tip.

The blipscene is from Stroud cemetery, which is also a managed nature reserve. I passed through it on my way downhill from the bus stop to our home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.