The search for perfect coffee

It was 1970 (why do I remember that?) standing in a taxi queue at Charing Cross station in London. Bernard Levin had written a piece in the Times about how roasting coffee is one of the most alluring smells possible; how none of his many coffee devices ever achieved the taste imagined; and how many percolators, filters and moka pots he had acquired while trying.

I previously said how disappointed I was in my own machine, so I had a Twitterversation with Inverness Coffee Roasting Co about finding a moka pot for an induction hob. They offered a choice between a Bialetti and a Grunwerg (DuckDuckGo it if you're that interested).

Reader, I bought the red one.

The sign in the shop, the point of all this, happened when the signwriter stopped for coffee halfway through, and forgot where he had left off (yes, I know, damn strong coffee). Anyway, everyone seemed to like the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.