Maureen6002

By maureen6002

When you walk through a storm ….

We stand sheltering in Baker Street station looking at the rain. It’s pouring down. I’ve known for the last two weeks that tonight’s forecast was hardly what you’d want for an evening of open air theatre, but I hoped for a last minute improvement.

There’s nothing for it. We just have to brave the walk to Regent’s Park. In the absence of umbrellas, I’m very glad of the waterproof I purchased yesterday.

The Open Air Theatre has been a summer treat for many years, and I’m reminded of picnics enjoyed in the park on sunny days, before we graduated to the ‘posher’ options of purchased hampers or of three course dining. At least tonight we have the latter option, enjoyed under cover in the twinkling fairy light arbour that is ‘covered dining’.  I wonder if perhaps we could spend the entire evening here, drinking wine and listening to the music emanating from the  open auditorium. It seems a better option than sitting in the pouring rain. But then, that really isn’t in the spirit of the place, and armed with classy orange plastic ponchos, we head inside. 

And miraculously this is when the rain stops. The clouds part to reveal patches of blue, though on the wooden stage a man works hard to mop the water from the surface.

It’s Carousel - a golden oldie - but this group always seem to bring a fresh dimension. Emotions come as a surprise  when the show starts with members of the orchestra forming a brass band to play the opening number beautifully on the empty stage. LIVE MUSIC - how I’ve missed this. 

I’ve forgotten just how many belting tunes this show has; I love the cliched storylines, and despite its overexposed football anthem connotations, ‘When you walk through a storm’ sets tears flowing down my face. The words resonate on so many levels …. 

Against the odds, it’s been a wonderful opening to our London experience. 

Please accept my apologies - I will be running very late in terms of comments over the next few days! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.