Paused

For the first time in almost a week I have been out for a jog. It felt good to do so. I had intended being down on the Southend mudflats an hour or so earlier, However, everything got delayed as the judicial review of an application by a patient for release from compulsory status was almost an hour and a half late in starting. 

The Judge was someone I have known for many years and we worked together when she was still working as a barrister. Particularly with custody cases where the mental health of a mother was being presented as an issue. This is a very different role; as before I was impressed with the care she took. 

The frequent spells of rain and the near full high tide meant that few birds were near the water. I did see a pair of masked lapwings and red-billed gulls. I chose to go back via the streets, and in Amanda Lane I heard and then saw a Tui in a flowering cherry tree. Busily feeding from the many flowers. I struggled to get a well focussed photo when it wasn't behind flowers or branches. Then another Tui flew into the tree, and this one paused in its feeding to sing out in response, and fluffed itself up.

Whatever the interaction was it seemed to satisfy this one, as it went back to feeding and not long thereafter the other flew away again.

This show was taken somewhat hastily, and therefore is not ideally framed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.