Seven to mind

There was one new admission from yesterday, and there was low pressure again today. Once again I took my sandwiches and went out into Pukekawa and read some more of another book on the new Kindle. As I walked past the Duck Pond, I was able to take a photograph of a Parera dominant duck and ducklings. Parera is the Maori name of the native Grey Duck. There has been much mating between Parera and the imported Mallards. This duck has a second facial stripe and a grey bill. Other distinguishing features are not visible in this photo.

After work, I needed to get potatoes, and used the trip to Farro to add in a walk around Cox's Creek on the boardwalk. In a street near the creek is a house with an unusual design, including an iron beam extending out from the road side of the house. The beam was used to provide the means to get large items into the house.

I was about to settle down and relax at home when I remembered that tonight was Peer Review night. I joined them a little late, and it was a good evening. First meeting I've been at since before lockdown, as I was too unwell to go to the one a month ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.