Impoftheyard's photos

By impoftheyard

Happy birthday mum...

This is a photograph of my parents when they were in their twenties. They are both gone now. Today my mother would have been 83. She was born the same day as the queen but died at the age of 57. Her life had not been easy but she lived it with spirit and humour.

I have one friend, C, who knew my mother well. This is very special as only one other friend met her. A couple of years ago C's father died. After the funeral, there was wine left over. C and I had a very drunken tribute to our parents quoting them on their parental wisdom. My mother's phrase was "Might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb" and C's father's phrase was "Better not let it go to waste". This got us through a lot of wine that night and still sees us through some evenings.

Mum's wisdom has led to no end of trouble and a lot of fun!

I'm very tired today. The sun has come out but I don't have much energy for exploring so if you have a bottle of wine in the cupboard tonight, remember - might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb and better not let it go to waste ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.