RogMull

By RogMull

Farewell Mosi-Oa-Tunya

At 7.40 this morning in Zimbabwe I waved farewell to Mosi-oa-Tunya, translation: The Smoke That Thunders. Much better name than Victoria Falls, as it describes the thunderous beauty of the Falls.

What may look like cloud in the picture is the spray thrown up by the Falls, which at their highest point have a drop over twice that of Niagara Falls. From where I stood taking the picture I could hear the thunderous roar of the Falls - almost as if calling me back. Someday, maybe.

It has been a short but memorable visit to Zimbabwe. We were here while back home in Scotland there were celebrations of the 200th anniversary of David Livingstone. A huge statue of him stands at the edge of the rain forest overlooking the falls.

I am heading off for breakfast now at Jungle Junction, before starting the no doubt arduous journey home....and editing all these photographs.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.