Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

New Forest Gravel

I suppose I ought to have caught up with the latest trend and bought myself a gravel bike, but a bloke only needs so many bikes. So with mountain bike, I cycled lanes, bridleways and tracks, first thing this morning and I am a huge fan. Whilst there are many patient and accommodating drivers on the roads, there are a good number who are not, even some who think that bikes shouldn't be in the road at all and seem to go out of their way to intimidate riders.

The perfect solution can be found in the New Forest, which benefits from miles upon miles of gravel tracks - think country lane, with gravel instead of tarmac and no motor vehicles. I'm a fan, sadly our local area lacks anything more than short bridleways which are often overgrown.

Others in our holiday group had chosen segway riding (I'm told not nearly as scary as you might imagine), archery (scary when at the pointy end) and laser shotgun target practice (heavy on the arms) as well as Alpaca walking - much fun had by all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.