Doing Porridge

I passed this field of oats and it looked good with the sun on it. I took some shot's and then decided to put the drone up. Although the wind had dropped a lot I still got a warning of high wind as it got higher but the aerial photo is in as an extra. On this occasion I preferred the land based shot.

'Doing porridge' is a slang term in the UK for serving a prison sentence. Porridge or oatmeal as it's known elsewhere used to be a cheap way of feeding prisoners. I think they probably get other options these days. Oats these days are mostly used to feed animals but Samuel Johnson famously said in his dictionary published in 1755 “Oats: A grain, which in England is generally given to horses, but in Scotland appears to support the people.”

There's nothing wrong with a good bowl of porridge in my opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.