An invasive weed

A day of grey skies and threats of rain and the odd sunny spell.  I started the day with a pilates class and was pleasantly surprised to see our teacher there.  She had told us she was on holiday for a fortnight but as they did not have cover for her she took the class before catching a plane later in the day.

As we had run out of eggs I went with my son to the local farm to pick up a large tray.  He collected the eggs and I looked around for a blip.  The river didn't look very interesting so I chose to take a photo of the invasive weed Himalayan Balsam, it does have very attractive flowers which is why it was introduced in the first place.  This particular clump is right at the rivers edge with the water flowing a short way out to sea so the seeds from the flowers are unlikely to cause a problem as they will be washed out to sea.

I popped down to the allotment after lunch and spent some time digging up some of the Oxalis weed that has spread all over the plot.  It has small bulbils above a short slim tap root and then easily break up as you dig them out.  I do wonder at times like this about how much time the allotment takes.  Anyway I did come home with some of the first French beans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.