The Still, Small Voice . . . of Spring

Winter has been trying to hold on here. On Monday, we got about another five inches of snow, followed by freezing rain. It's been a real winter of a winter. We've had more snowstorms than I can count, many leaving us with significant accumulations and hazardous travel conditions.

Tuesday morning, I seized the opportunity to walk around campus and take some of what I expect may be the last snow pictures of this winter. (She said hopefully.)

I used black and white for many of my photos. The snow seemed to call for it. But then I saw a yellow splash of golden glory . . . FORSYTHIA, BLOOMING! And so I tried a few shots with the "color accent" feature, which highlights a single color while leaving the remainder of the photo monochrome.

Yes, winter may be trying its best to hold on, but if you listen carefully, at the edges of things, you can hear the still, small voice . . . of spring!

A song to accompany this sign of hope: It Might as Well Be Spring, from the Rodgers and Hammerstein 1945 film/musical, State Fair. While the performer in this clip is Jeanne Crain, the singing voice dubbed in is that of Louanne Hogan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.