pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The art of improvisation

I quite enjoy a bit of improvisation. 

Ask any one of the people serving as prompt at the panto. Each of them has thrown their hands into the air in exasperation when I’ve looked to them for assistance having disappeared down a tunnel of tangents.

There was a bit parent improv required this morning when the planned run-out to give the children some sheltered exercise in a soft play centre fell foul of the covid EVERYTHING MUST BE BOOKED dogma. I made a note to book some time to let me catch up on booking some time.

Soft play abandoned, a newly installed crazy golf course caught my eye and with no Simmo Jnr to show me up this time, I knew I was in with a chance of winning and it would keep the children entertained for a little while – which it did!! No arguments or anything and we had a bit of a giggle.

We returned for lunch with my parents whereupon another plan was improvised for the afternoon. The Eldest would take m’boy off for a walk into town (which they were both excited about), Nanny would take The Youngest (pictured here) to buy some craft stuff leaving my father and I free for a nice wander and catch up. We duly did that and then got a drenching in the rain for our trouble, but I did manage to squeeze a nap in on my return and get a new flatpack bookcase constructed, which was an unexpected bonus.

The rest of the day was spent in family company and demolishing the curry which had been in the slow cooker all day.

The wee one’s excitement levels had long since surpassed “giddy”, so it was with some relief when they eventually went to bed and we could hear ourselves think once more. 

It’s never dull though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.