Shaking back in

I have been pottering today.. bit of gardening , bit of sorting, bit of planning.. all the usual post holiday displacement feelings. The garden does look a little battered but I am thrilled with this lot.  The scabious (top left) is part of a set of plants I bought for a pot from Sarah Raven as a treat but I am mostly underwhelmed at the volume of the potful.The shaggy white dahlia is the same as I posted two days ago but it has got much bigger (hand for scale). The bottom left is a black eyed susan, also bought as a plug fro SR ... I am underwhelmed as this is the only flower and the plants are still only about 8 inches high.. hope they will come into their own in the autumn.  Bottom right is the rose I took as a cutting from a bunch of flowers I was given from M&S two years ago!!  When the roses went over after two weeks I spotted they had grown strong new size shoots.. so I hoofed them into the garden and this one worked!!  It has had one flower which fell the day we got home but this is a new one.. it is every bit as pretty as I remember it although a little rain and wind damaged... delighted with the success of getting a cutting!
Had coffee with the neighbour who kindly came in and watered my pots while we were away. . I gave her some hot smoked salmon from a local fishing shed up north.. she was thrilled.
Happy monday all. hope the start to your week has gone well

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.