A Pan, by any other name…

…still cooks food.
Having ruined one of Alice's Pans I set about to track a replacement; during which hunt (NO NOT Witch-Hunt) I discovered it's called a Sauté Pan.  I've long wondered the difference.  Having searched the difference, in my cookery Lexicon, it's another name for frying; seems NOT, there were, actually, eight differences listed.  I'll not bore you with them all, you probably know them better than I do.
BUT
One said - "Frying requires deeper pan than sautéing."
Observe:- 
On the left; what purports to be a Sauté pan.  So sayeth the vendors.
In the centre & right; what I've spent a lifetime calling Frying Pans.  Amendment - the one on the right, however it was labelled, Al bought as an Omelette Pan.  I've just checked - The Blip of the Box, Nov 2012 just says "Pan".
Personally I'd say they were shallower than the Sauté Pan, what say you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.