Anjelica

It's twenty-six, twenty-seven years since I experienced the sheer joy and delight of a four year old waking from his night's sleep. William didn't rise until ten past eight o'clock. Everybody seemed to have slept well. Everybody still seemed as if they could have slept in longer. I did, this afternoon. Another hour's nap. Len, by contrast, went to tennis and then swimming. Basil didn't get a walk.

William wanted to watch TV after breakfast. He chose Frozen, which I hadn't seen before. Interesting that the trolls resembled boulders. Many Icelanders still believe that elves make their homes in such boulders.

William's other Grandma and Grandad, who are in the family bubble, were at his house when we took him home but were just leaving. Kat had a 'sweep' this morning in the hope that it might make the baby begin its descent, rather than her having to go for induction in two days. She paced up and down the yard while we were there, hoping it would start things off. No news as of late tonight.

George, Kat and William have had to go into self-isolation until after the birth. William will go to his other grandparents while his Mum is in hospital. Only one birthing partner will be allowed and that will be George.

Our house seemed empty after William had gone.

I retrieved these stems of anjelica from a plant that I had set off last year. Now that I've photographed them, I need to find out what I can use the seeds for.

My computer screensaver comes courtesy of Google Arts and Culture. I get a different painting each day.Today's painting was of The Rocks by Vincent Van Gogh. It's outstanding. The colours and textures leapt off the screen. I had an intense emotional reaction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.