Glancing Light on a Dancing Rat

Backblip. Blame Facebook for not enabling my login to Blipfoto.

Hot and oppressive today, particularly in the latter part of the afternoon.

I had to drive to Leicester General Hospital this morning for a meeting with an orthopaedic surgeon about the state of my right hip. The prosthesis has slipped, but not enough to warrant a revision, yet. The X-ray showed no change from last year. I was astounded at how empty of patients the place seemed. Lots of staff.

As a result I was able to checkin immediately, get my X-ray immediately and see the surgeon immediately. Plus parking fees have been suspended. I can live with that. And everything was more relaxed.

On the way home, I stopped for a shop at Sainsbury's on the Melton Road. That was a pleasure too. Lots of space to move around in and a good range of stock.

Back home, after a cup of tea and two glasses of water, I fell asleep in the chair in front of the computer. The atmosphere became increasingly oppressive. At 6 pm it was comfortable enough to take Basil for a walk around Nanpantan Reservoir. Humbugs still bugging their Mum while Dad floats serenely in his own little world.

Took my big lens to try and photograph swallows and swifts swooping over the water. I need to remember the lessons of street photography. Smallish aperture, set manual focus to area of interest, high ISO.  I might get some good pics sometime if I remember that. Plus high burst of shooting.

I took several photos but the one that stands out today is this one of the dancing rat on my bookshelves. A last ray of the setting sun made it stand out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.