Rodents rule

By squirk

Sad sun

The absence of the noisy, nosey (and persistent) neighbourhood cat was really felt today. My mind automatically looked for her in the window box, in the flowerbed, on the bench cushions, on the soft furnishings inside (she’d sneak in and find a comfy spot) and at the catflap where her pointed face and yellow eyes would fill the window, begging to be let in. It’s a quieter place now.

Hope faded today that the runover cat found on the road parallel to ours on Sunday evening wasn’t Perch. Perch’s sister/brother who I call Prop came round and toured the flat. Fred thinks Prop is looking for her sister. Perch and Prop were always together for the morning garden exploration but only the one cat has visited since Sunday. I don’t know where Prop lives and none of my neighbours have a clue either. It could be that the cats crossed the road to explore our tangle of gardens.

I’ve started to mourn not having Perch’s company. She mewed her way into our hearts. Juno, however, doesn’t seem too fazed, although he and Perch often curled up near each other (Perch often tried to curl up ON him but Juno would fire a warning miaow to stop that nonsense).

Fred and I managed a Norwood Grove walk at lunch and a West Dulwich meander after work. I popped in to see Rene and confused Poppy as it’s not my turn to walk her today. Rene had some ham to give to Juno (which Juno loves).

Fred made pizza, which I love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.