Windmill 'De Hoop', Hellevoetsluis

There's a lot of 'hope' in this country.  :D))
'Hellevoetsluis' sounds like two words = 'Hel-luh-voot' + 'sluis' = the sluice at the foot of the Hel river.  This waterway swelled quickly and overflowed often, out of its banks, causing death and destruction in the surrounding countryside.  It's very long, extending from the Hollandsche Diep all the way here and then on to the North Sea.

Hellevoetsluis is also an old fort.  If you look at the map, you'll see the star shape, or part of it.  Same as in Willemstad.  Same as in Heusden.  Gorinchem, too.  I have been here before -- https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4364604

Impossible to get a horizontal panoramic or wide angle shot because it was standing in one of those rather limited, enclosed spaces, just a bit too teeny for a wide shot.  Thankfully, the height was not an obstacle.  After the shots, wandered a bit on the old bunkers on the fort and admired the cannon and the view.  There's an extra.

Before I left, a short update from the Viking.  He's just discovered one or two cases of fraud in connection with Jay, some suspicious transactions that need to be investigated.  I've shared what I remember, which is not much, and many things were deliberately kept from me, as you know.  Also a long chat with Mimi.  We haven't been in touch lately because she's also busy, but that has never been a problem, of course.  Anyway, I told the Viking to go ahead with what needs to be done.  I've reached some kind of point of disconnection where I can get a good night's sleep despite whatever news or kind of news he has for me.  Much has been learned these past few years, oh yes.

Another beautiful day!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.