Speckled Wood

Visited the farm shop in Cardington today for some provisions. Took the old road home through Old Warden and stopped off at the top of the hill and walked along to Old Warden Tunnel Nature Reserve.
The purpose being to check if they are grazing sheep there at the moment, which they are not. To be honest it’s more of a winter occurrence, but I just thought I’d double check.
I also took the chance to practice some more with the photography and have to say, as I had the chance to concentrate today, I am really quite pleased with these shots.
The main is the speckled wood butterfly. In extras - a gatekeeper butterfly, the view across the top of the nature reserve, the view across to Cardington Hangers and some conkers growing on the trees on the way along the track.
Last week when I met with Nicoiseannie, we talked about coming to the tunnel, and discussed whether to bring her dog Flint. So I checked it out today. She also very kindly let me have a trial with her Sony camera she is selling. Whilst it is in excellent condition, it is a few years old now and it’s made me really evaluate what I want to move on to camera wise, and so even though it’s a good price, I’m going to continue researching for a while longer to find one with the features I know I’ll want. But a big thank you Anne for letting me play.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.