Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A hot day

We are enjoying summer weather again. Tomorrow we leave for Switzerland and by the time we come back, at the end of the month, it will be autumn. Usually I am looking forward to autumn but as our summer has been pretty rubbish this year I cannot believe that we will soon be going in to autumn.

As it was sunny I decided to go see the heather again, as it may all be over by the time we get back. I planned to blip the heather but then I really liked the light in these trees so the heather is added as an extra, and also one of Xena in the heather wearing her heather coloured collar!

It has been a busy day as is always the case before we go away - bed linen washed and ironed, all the towels washed, I finally finished packing, now I must make supper and then clear out the fridge. Despite trying to run down the groceries this week there is always stuff we have to throw out and I hate throwing out perfectly good food.

We plan to leave home at 3.30am tomorrow. I have made overnight oats for our breakfast, its completely vegan so I hope I don't have some border official trying to confiscate it as they may think it could contain dairy (as we cannot take dairy of meat into the EU). I am also making a vegan quinoa salad for our lunch so I hope that also passes the test. I probably will lie awake all night worrying about going through the border with my fish based dogfood and food for the journey, bloody Brexit has made us feel as if we are smuggling drugs or something.

It will be an early night tonight with that very early start - it is such a long journey, about 10,5  hours of actual driving time but actually longer with the Eurotunnel crossing and stops. We will make regular stops for Xena to stretch her legs. Thankfully I can read in the car if I hold my Kindle up at eye level (or else I get car sick). I am reading a very long book at the moment so the journey will be a good time to get stuck into it. The book is A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, it was shortlisted for many book awards in 2015 and it has been on my TBR list for so long now, and now I have finally got around to reading it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.