Rites of passage.

I think I may have posted this photo before but have done so again as my friend Peter’s daughter read a poem called Family Tree, at his Funeral service yesterday.
The whole event was a wonderful reflection on his life. The highs and the lows. The laughs and the mundane, alongside the heartaches.
Two of his sons both spoke very movingly about their relationship with him which was obviously very close and special. His 3rd son lives in California with his family so the service was Live-streamed by the Funeral Directors. This meant other people who wanted to be there but were not able could be a part of it.
The limit on people attending was lifted altogether in June.
His three grandchildren were there, the youngest a babe in arms.
The eldest 8 years old.
Here is the poem which some of you may know.

Family Tree
A limb has fallen from the family tree.
I hear a voice that whispers, “Grieve not for me.
Remember the best times, the laughter, the songs.
The good I lived while I was strong.
Continue my heritage, I’m counting on you
Keep on smiling, the sun will shine through.
My mind is at ease, my soul is at rest,
Remembering all…..how I was truly blest.
Continue traditions, no matter how small,
Go on with your lives, don’t stare at the wall.
I miss you all dearly, so keep up your chin,
Until that fine day we’re together again.”
I am very tired today, after a fitful night.
Driving up the M6 alongside heavy lorries contributes to it.
Yet I pay silent homage when we pass the spot where our son and our Pastoral Minister were killed way back now in 2006.
So today after an emotional farewell yesterday I know I need to withdraw for a little while, to recharge my inner self.
I will miss Peter but the memories live on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.