Picnic in the Heather

For several years past I've wanted to go and see the heather blooming in the Peak District. You have to go in August. I've always left it too late in the past. This morning, after the men had been to replace the cracked glass in the window in the lounge, I thought, it looks a nice day. I should perhaps do something else but why not head off to Surprise View which lies on the Millstone Grit escarpment trending north-south and enjoy the heather.

Of course, we left it a bit too late but we got there shortly before 2pm. The heather was splendid. The light didn't seem right to show it at its best but it's amazing what you can do with software.

I decided to climb the hill following Len and Basil. I think I got halfway up before meeting Len coming down. We sat on a rock in the heather and enjoyed the ambience. The bees were busy. I even saw a couple of honey bees.

The three in the photo had dragged their chairs out into the rough to enjoy a picnic. We got our chairs out and sat at the edge of the car park. Len had left the jam jar of milk in the fridge, keeping cool before going out, so we drank black tea. There was ten minutes of anguish while Len couldn't find the car keys. I pointed out that he  must have them because he'd opened the car. He found them eventually, in his back pocket.

We couldn't linger as he had a swimming session booked for 6.30 pm. Me? I'm tired and will go to bed after blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.