For My Friend

I had coffee this morning with a dear friend I met 25 years ago through our children.  It should have been like our past get togethers, checking in about our families, comparing plans for post-Covid travel, updates on our neighbors, etc, ... but it wasn't.  And it never will be.  She has a rare, progressive neurodegenerative disease which has no cure, or even treatment.  The symptoms are catching up with her physically and she has some big decisions to make, but her "glass is half full" attitude remains.  We sat for three hours and talked about the past and the future, and I got a better idea of what I might be able to do to help.  But the reality hit me hard.  After I dropped her off at her home, I knew I wanted to take photos to settle myself down, even if it was one of the hottest afternoons of the summer.  I went to my buddleia bush, and fortunately the swallowtails were there.  Thank you nature's creatures, for bailing me out once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.