paperTIGER

By papertiger

Being 8.

Children are not the audience of the future. Rather, they are the citizens of the here-and-now, with important cultural entitlements. An 8 year old is not a third of a 24 year old, a quarter of a 32 year old, or a fifth of a 40 year old. Being 8 is a whole experience ... there are understandings and meanings particular to being 8.

-- Martin Drury


Today there are more ''World'' days than you can shake a stick at!

March 20th is International Day of Happiness, International Astrology Day, World Storytelling Day, International Day of Francophonie (hey?) and World Sparrow Day, I kid you not!

I've used the above quote before - here - but it seems only fitting to use it again, because what tops the list today, as far as I'm concerned, is the fact that it is also World Day of Theatre for Children!

The photo is of the Studio where we make youth theatre ''magic'' happen ... well, on the odd occasion! Tonight my 8-10's group shared, discussed and debated ideas around theatre - why we love it, how it makes us feel, what we get out of participating, etc.

Here are just a few of their thoughts:

- I like it when the lights go down. I like making people laugh.

- Plays make me feel excited, scared; happy. It makes me think ''That's what I want to do when I grow up.''

- Drama helps you express your feelings and helps you later in life.

- I like Youth Theatre because it brings out the best in me. You can just be yourself, and no one would care. There is no judgement.

- Theatre makes me feel surprised.

- We come because we want to be ambitious.

- It makes me feel like I'm living two lives.


As the saying goes, the proof is definitely in the pudding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.