Catbrook

By Catbrook

What we think we become

Bleary-eyed from staring at a computer screen and brain-dead from fruitless job searching (no frittering my time away stalking dogs and writing slightly ridiculous made-up conversations today) I looked up to find a rather more pleasant scene on the other side of the room.

Quite a contrast between Buddha's serenity in the afternoon sunlight and my stress siren WAAAPING away (that is the noise my stress siren makes). Yes I am an unwilling member of the not-so-exclusive club of the unemployed. Unemployed yes, despondent no. A sure-fire way to make a bad situation worse is to sink yourself with negativity.

"We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make our world" Buddha

Religious labels aside I follow whatever I believe will help me live my life better. It doesn't matter if it's Buddha or Oprah (not that I'm suggesting Oprahism is a religion -although I'm sure for some people it is) it's not so much who said it but what they said. I just so happen to agree that compassion, mindfulness and tranquility are pretty good choices.

That's all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.