Catbrook

By Catbrook

Not a flying-farmer in sight

I had already sorted the day's blip when I noticed the sun was considering doing something interesting before disappearing. I am a big sunset person (love sunrise too but find ejecting myself from a warm bed on the off-chance the sun might make a big entrance to be too much of a risk) so off I went into the countryside to try and find a good vantage point.

This was harder than I thought it would be due to...hmm I was going to say 'healthy respect for farmers' but on reflection a more adequate description would be 'paranoid fear of farmers.' This all stems from accidental stepping into a farmers field as a young girl and setting off some kind of trip-switch which was linked to some kind of alarm in the farmers house which resulted in a giant catapult launching the said farmer out of an upstairs window and planting him three inches from my face in approximately 2.7 seconds. He then launched into a tirade in the broadest most incomprehensible Yorkshire conceivable. I swear to this day I only had half a foot in his field.

Anyway, I'm no crop trampler. I would never dream of stomping on food even if it is buried under the ground and yet to be born. And of course - like the good girl that I am - I respect private property.

The 'paranoid fear' comes in because I worry about being on the boundary of a farmer's field, somewhat close to the field, within a few feet say, perhaps my shadow is creeping towards the field....what happens if the trip-switch is ultra-sensitive and it sets off the alarm which launches the catapult which is also configured incorrectly and launches the farmer with such force that he smashes right into me and breaks both of my legs?

So although the composition may not be 100% what I wanted I am delighted to inform you I did not sustain any flying-farmer related injuries in the making of this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.