Chris_P

By Chris_P

Edinburgh parkrun Restarts

Spent the early part of the morning volunteering at the first ‘post Covid restrictions’ Edinburgh parkrun for nearly 18 months. 

Edinburgh parkrun is one of nearly 60 parkruns in Scotland, most of which got up and running again today.

I myself had become a bit of a parkrun addict and had run over 400 parkruns (mainly in Edinburgh - and getting a bit slower with each passing year), since it first started here in 2009. 

However, today I wanted to record this historic restart. So my volunteer role was that of photographer, and my aim was to capture as many people as possible -both during the run and at the finish line - and then to edit the photos and upload them onto Flickr. 

Around 620 people of all ages, from under 10s to over 80s, as well as dogs and buggies, completed the 5 kilometre course. 

A highly rewarding morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.