Today was my Ramblers group, the One Step Walkers' summer social event. This used to be an outdoor picnic by Black Rocks carpark near Cromford, but has been held indoors for the last couple of years. Obviously it didn't take place last year, but this year it was held in Bonsall Village Hall... which I ridiculously found hard to find... but did eventually!

There are always three different walks, all timed to be back at the venue at roughly the same time. We, the long walk participants, went from Bonsall to Winster and then to Matlock before following the Limestone Way for a while. That was interesting, because I'd walked the Limestone Way with members of this group, but not the Matlock section.

The main photo is of the "shop" in Youlgreave which provided me with lunch when walking the Limestone Way, nice to see it again!

First extra is of lunch stop, the second is of everyone getting their grub - a great selection of food as always and the third is halfway up a very steep final hill.

It was strange. I walked into the village hall and mingled with 50 odd members as if it was the most normal thing in the world. Then I remembered about Covid, but I admit that it didn't alter how I behaved. An odd experience. 

10.72 miles
1,628 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.