Rainy Day Tales

A day for hunkering down after a blowy night. Yours truly, the ancient novice mariner, clamped his eyes shut and pretended to sleep. At times I did. Or must have, as morning did eventually arrive.
So there I stayed till PT, motoring along from Corran, got in touch. Boots on, dinghy baled, I made my way to the jetty. And was treated to lunch sitting in the wee shop. Well, a sausage roll.
Back to the boat between showers and then news that the arrival of SW was imminent. Back ashore, back to the boat and come 5:30pm we almost headed off for our evening meal - in fact we were in the dinghy - when the rain came lashing in again (photo!) we jumped back into the cabin until it passed. What larks!
Still, the evening was dry(er) and the wind began to drop. Good Lord, what an interesting tale.
Meanwhile in the real world, in Afghanistan, the Taliban are sweeping all before them as the west withdraws. I remember reading The Return of the King a few years back. Wild mountain people whose main pastime was making war, that’s what I recall. Though that was in the 19th century and things may have changed…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.