Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Rubbing It In

We should be in Bergen today having spent almost a week on the Queen Mary cruising up the Norway coast.
Obviously Covid scuppered those plans and we have to wait until next Summer.
My mum and dad booked one of the round UK cruises to replace to the cancelled one and today was the long-awaited day.
Being the kind, lovely daughter that I am I, of course, said yes when mum asked could I taken them down to Southampton today to save booking parking for the week.
I tried not to think uncharitable, bitter, jealous thoughts as we pulled up alongside the Queen Elizabeth!!
Despite Mr K blowing up the tyre of my car last night the light came on again as soon as I got in it this morning so when I got to Bicester I suggested to my mum that I drive them down in her car. I had visions of them thinking uncharitable, bitter thoughts as we stood by the side of the M3 waiting for the RAC to come and tow us and my exploded Tyres to a garage. As the ship sets off on her merry way!
So we went in her car and we made it to Southampton in super quick time.
I dropped them off at the terminal - looking longingly up at the ship. Roll on next August….. - and then headed to John Lewis to mooch around for a bit before hearing from my mum that their Covid tests were negative and they were OK to board. Then I could be on my way home.
Worst journey ever!! Traffic jam after crawling traffic jam, and then the first time in over two hours I could accelerate at all, a hidden speed van which I suspect caught me doing nearly 60mph in an - unbeknownst to me - 50mph stretch. Arse.
I made it home eventually. And tried not to think uncharitable, jealous thoughts as I was sent pictures of cocktails, cream teas and scrummy dinners!!!
Hahahahahaha!! I’m actually very happy for them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.