JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 226: Obsession!

The butterfly photos are becoming addictive. The buddleia bush is just outside the back door, next to the deck, so it's impossible to go out for anything without seeing more butterflies and rushing back for the camera. I've chosen the Red Admiral for my main shot because I like the softness of the background, but I was pleased to see several beautiful Small Tortoiseshells today; they have been largely absent till now this year, and I read something about a big decline in numbers, but I'm hoping that, here at least, they are just late emerging. The ones I saw today looked, to my inexpert eye, as though they might be quite newly emerged, spending long periods settled on the deck or grass gently flexing their wings. As for the Painted Ladies, there are lots of them and they are beautiful, but I have still not managed to capture one with both wings outstretched and in focus. It's in danger of becoming an obsession, if it has not already; fortunately, the butterfly season is relatively short.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.