JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 227: Southern Hawker?

I promised myself I was going to do lots of jobs and not get distracted trying to improve on my butterfly photos; but then, as I returned from hanging up laundry, a dragonfly passed very close to me and settled on the buddleia. We don't see a lot of dragonflies, it seemed quite settled and was still there when I returned with the camera. I think it's probably a Southern Hawker, like the one I blipped at the weekend, though the colours don't quite correspond to the photos on the British Dragonfly website. It has a damaged wing, ripped at the top and mangled at the tip. I don't know if this may have happened as it emerged, or if it was caught somewhere. I didn't notice a problem when it flew past me.

I'm still posting a day late, and have not yet downloaded today's photos; and again have browsed very little and commented less. I hope to catch up with both posting and commenting in the course of the week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.