madowoi

By madowoi

Coming Down Mansell Mtn.

Left the house not sure where I wanted to go, and found myself on the Long Pond fire road heading up the Western Mountain trail. The first part is not well traveled. The park guide book I like to refer to includes the description "upper section mostly featureless with tread of roots and exposed rocks," which I guess would keep people from going out of their way to see it. Personally it's starting to grow on me and I think I want to come back in the winter and hike it up to Great Notch. The problem with this trail is there's no good way to make a loop out of it, so I ended up going on a longer hike than planned.  Since I made the mistake of waiting until ten in the morning to head out, I ran into all sorts of people once I started up Mansell. Coming down the Perpendicular Trail I had to wait a bit to let various groups go by so I could get a photo of this distinctive tree hanging over the path. It's been a long time since I came down this trail (usually I hike up it) and sometimes coming down a steep descent when your legs are tired is harder on the knees than going up. At least that was the case today. Crossed over that footbridge I like on the way back but didn't stop to appreciate it this time. Right at the end of the hike I did come across a guy who asked me if it was my Tesla parked at the trailhead. Ha! I had to disappoint him and confess my car was the old Subaru with the frayed duct tape all over the roof rack. It got me home though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.