Grasshopper

Woke up this morning to the sound of turkeys panicking outside the window. This time is was a coyote going after them, but to all appearances she was unsuccessful. Although we frequently hear them howling around the edges of the field at night, it's rare to actually get a clear look at one, especially so close to the house.

Spent a few hours working to get the classroom ready. Only a couple of weeks left and there's no way I'm going to feel really prepared. When I got home this grasshopper was on the front steps. 

When I lived in the city there was a constant hum of ambient traffic noise which never really stood out to me until I came back after living in the country for awhile. Then it seemed so loud. I suppose that is what the grasshoppers and crickets here are like. I'm aware of them, but it's such a constant chorus in the background that it fades into the back of your consciousness. Eventually it will get colder and colder, and then the real silence will return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.