Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Gallows stone

This is the stone marking the spot where the gallows stood, just by the city boundary on the old London Road on the edge of the York Knavesmire. 

The York races, also held on the Knavesmire, began as a side show to the executions. But the first bets of the day were on how long the victims of the gallows would take to die.

Cheerful spot to walk the dog, as I frequently do! I'm being ironic of course, however -  you would think there might be a creepy atmosphere here, but no, not really. There are pleasant paths on the Knavesmire edge with big old beech & sycamore trees and long grass where the dog can snuffle about. It even feels peaceful, a good place to think & contemplate as you walk. 

I will say though that I don't like the atmosphere of race day in York. People still converge on the city from the surrounding areas, just like they did for centuries to watch the hangings. I tend to stay out of the way. Friends have sometimes gone - to experience the betting, the drinking, the dressing up, watching the horses tearing past. Personally, I've never fancied it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.