Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Mum and June

My mum's friend June visited on Sunday. We hadn't seen her for four years. June & Mum did their nursing training together, beginning in 1952.

I don't want to make a habit of posting a photo from another day, but I couldn't actually bring myself to post this on Sunday. Seeing Mum with June made Mum's Alzheimer's so apparent. June talked all about the things they'd done together so articulately and fluently, bringing their shared past into full & colourful relief. It was fantastic and Mum loved it, but it was also incredibly sad. My mum should still be like that. But she isn't, because Alzheimer's. It's taken me since Sunday to process that.

We'll go and see June again soon, I think. Although I was sad, it's good to keep those stories from the past alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.