Aclimatização

Acclimatisation.

A day of mooching about getting things in order and getting re-acquainted with Maputo. Lundula dropped some badjias (a falafel-like thing) with me as a snack, which were delicious and fuelled me for a day of errands. From the basic bakery over the road I also made sure to imbibe a meia de leite, a drink of half milk, half coffee, that I like here.

I acquired a duvet for the cool winter nights, as whatever I was using before has disappeared in my absence and I was cold under a sheet on the first night. I reconnected with Paulo the txopela driver who ferried me to a few places and confirmed my Portuguese level has fallen. Paulo always tells it like it is.

The biggest adjustment is that face masks are obligatory here in public, and people seem very compliant. As the weather is relatively cool, it doesn’t pose an over-heating problem yet. And at least it will be good for the Portuguese listening practice that I won’t have mouth movements as a prompt.

The Nossa Senhora da Conceição da Sé Catedral de Maputo (Sé Cathedral) close to where I live, seen on one of my first walkabouts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.