The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lacock (Monday 16th August 2021)

In a further attempt to provide a blip that wasn't more flora I set off for the grounds of Lacock Abbey, my first visit to a commercial venue since before the first lockdown, last visited in February 2020, and only now revisited because one can at last attend National Trust outdoor areas without having to pre-book.

Heading first for the Botanic Gardens perhaps wasn't the wisest choice for a flora-free blip, but I was primarily looking for cats, who have been known to hang out there. There are three cats commonly found in the grounds, including the Abbess, a regular visitor from the village who looks very much as my cat Smokey did, and who is also known to some there by the name Smokey.

I didn't see any cats today, but I did get this shot of reflections in the Abbey pond, so I haven't entirely escaped flora. I have converted it for Mono Monday, whose theme is 'Low Key', with thanks to Carolina for hosting.

Monday 16.8.2021 (2022 hr)

P.S. By Wednesday I was thinking that I had missed a trick by converting the image into black and white, so I went back to the monochrome blip image and added a green tint that more closely resembles the original colour image and gives more of the mood of the original shot while remaining low-key.

Wednesday 18.8.2021 (1713 hr)

Blip #3501 (#3251 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2022 #156/266 + #082/100 Extras
Day #4162 (915 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2644 (#2444 + 160 in archived blips)

Lacock series
Black & White and Monochrome series
Leaves series
National Trust series

A Visit To Lacock Abbey, 16 August 2021 (Flickr album of 30 photos)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Sigma AF 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
U-Roy and Santigold - Man Next Door (2021)
Revisited by U-Roy for the last album he made, with Sly and Robbie and the Taxi Gang, before he died, Solid Gold, with guest vocalist Santigold on this track, and released posthumously.
Man Next Door  was written by John Holt in 1968 for his vocal group the Paragons. Since then it has been given a variety of new titles (A Quiet Place, I've Got To Get Away, Poison Flour, I Shall Fear No Evil, A Noisy Place, In The Neighborhood) and recorded by other artists such as Dennis Brown, UB40, Horace Andy (who also sang a version of the song for Massive Attack) and The Slits, and in DJ versions by Dave Barker, U-Roy, Dr Alimantado and I-Roy.
Iggy Pop played this last night on his Confidential Radio 6 show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.