Feeding on disturbed insects

Spent most of the day working on a report I am doing. Got to a point where I thought I would head out for a jog, only for a brief storm to blow away the sunny, albeit cool, wintwr's day. Heavy rain and high winds encouraged remaining inside. Then, as I had hoped, the wind dropped and the rain stopped. Long enough for a jog through the Highfield Reserve, where I saw and photographed this very active Piwakawaka (fantail); briefly pausing its hunt for flying insects.

New Zealand is heading to lockdown level 4 this evening due to a new case of Covid in the community without a clear link to any known cases. One such last year ended up with the source not known, and early limitation of activities ended the chain within a few weeks. The fear is that this will be a case of the Delta variant, meaning a transmission rate of 8, as compared to the 2-3 of the virus last year.

We are at the beachhouse and I am able to work from home, which I did in the Level 3 lockdown later in the year, whereas in the Level 4 lockdown, I isolated in my office upstairs in the Unit. Won't be doing that this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.