The Wolf Rock Lighthouse Again

Following on from my entry of 14th August I find myself having to choose between a photo of garden chairs lined up in "The Policies" or a photo of my Mac Pro Cinema screen showing the data of the Wolf Rock Lighthouse in three different views.

From right to left the first view shows a 2D drawing of  the vertical section through the lighthouse. This is the original drawing created some 40 years ago by the software engineers who supplied "my" first CAD system.

The half circle shapes at the base of the drawing are 3D model projections of one half of the tower viewed from above.

The middle view shows two tower sections in outline 3D. The view on the left shows the same sections rendered in sunlight.

The light grey colour is a base colour and as the 3D model is developed to show accurate surfaces rendering will create more realistic images.

All of the 3D modelling is created by me.

Perhaps I should have shown the chairs!

However, today we were given 15 minutes notice that our electricity supply would be switched off for two hours to carry out essential maintenance work. The electricity network consider us members of the "priority list".

That gives me enough time to shut down our computers, printers etc.

Of course, our Wi-fi also stops working as does every other piece of electrical equipment including the heat pumps. An unusual calm is felt throughout.

The two hours passed and after a wait of ten minutes or so, to ensure the restored supply was stable, I then went around the house starting up everything that had been switched off.

All is back to normal.

Why are we on the "priority list"? It is because of my health problems which meant I was recruited into the Shielded Brigade. Lucky me.

Yes, the CAD programme is a Windows App running in a full Windows environment within the Mac operating system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.