Unless you have money

My birthday today :)  Still not feeling 100%, so it was quite a low-key one, but I had a lovely day anyway.  Got some lovely, thoughtful presents from Tim (including a camera sensor cleaning kit, which he has promised to put to use on both my cameras), and he took me out in the car, too, which was a treat as I'd not left the flat for the best part of a week. 

We tried to go to The Tarn, near Eltham Palace, but parking was impossible, so we carried on to Beckenham Place Park instead, which I've been wanting to visit since seeing some photos on Instagram a little while ago.  I was curious about the swimming pond there (didn't fancy a swim, just a look), so we had a little walk in that direction, and found it, surrounded by some quite ugly fencing and a number of these signs (this one amended by a disgruntled local, by the looks of it).  There were some kids having great fun at what looked like a summer activity thing (wrestling each other off a boat and into the water), and a few people swimming too.  The park itself was beautiful, and I only wish I'd had more energy to explore more.  WIll have to go back another time.  Still managed a mile's walk in total; was nice to get some fresh air.

Today's other big treat was a Chinese takeaway this evening - our first takeaway since the pandemic began.  Sad to discover that our favourite Chinese had closed in the meantime, but, thanks to recommendations from a local Facebook group, we found a serviceable replacement just down the road.  Ate far too much, but thoroughly enjoyed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.