Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Type of Fungus

I'm not confident enough to name the species.  Two reference books don't have anything comparable, though there is a possibility it might be ringless honey fungus.  We spotted it while walking around the park for some exercise at lunchtime.  

Earlier in the day I'd walked to the G.P. surgery to fill out a form to get some prescriptions.  Apparently you can't do that over the phone.  But even though I was at the surgery, I couldn't make an appointment.  Instead I had to ring them up!  The receptionist, who I'd just asked for some advice, was quick to tell me I'm not supposed to visit the surgery without an appointment!  It beggars belief.  

And when I told them yesterday that the message they give out at the beginning of any call was out of date (they were still advising people in groups 1-9 how to get the vaccine), I was told they were too busy to update the information!  I hate to think how many 2 minutes and 12 second messages I've listened to in recent months before being able to choose an option and then wait ages to be answered (because I was in a queue!).

Sorry, it just got to me a bit today.  I'm off my soapbox now.

Thank you for the kind wishes for yesterday's birthday.  I can't quite believe where that year went, my birthday certainly came around really quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.